What do you want to write about?
BRAINSTORM!
Before you start writing, take some time to think about what you want to write about. What topic is interesting to you? Then do some research to learn more about the issue BEFORE you take a stance.
KEYWORDS
The words you use to search for information on your topic are important! Databases look for the exact words that you put in, so you need to think about what words are used to describe your topic, including synonyms and related terms.
Topic Databases
These databases organize their content by topic to help you find information on current issues.
Not all the articles in these databases represent opinions. Some provide information that may help you support your argument, bring in another perspective, or help you refute an opposing argument.
-
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints covers todays' hottest social issues and includes published opinion essays, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
-
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of some of the most controversial topics of our day in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Background Information
Reference sources can be a great place to go for general background information, definitions, and overviews of a particular topic.
-
Communication Theory Encyclopedia from Sage This link opens in a new windowMore than 300 entries related to communication theory, offering current descriptions as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories.
-
International Encyclopedia of Media Studies This link opens in a new windowThe International Encyclopedia of Media Studies explores media as it is being practiced, produced, and analyzed in Asia, Africa, the Americas, Australia, and Europe. Edited by an international team of scholars, the encyclopedia is global in scope and wide-ranging in its inclusion of topics.
-
Credo Reference via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
Credo is a database of background content, containing full-text entries to help learn the basics of any topic. Start your research here to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles.
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearch individual or multiple online encyclopedias and dictionaries covering a wide range of subjects, from science to education to history.
-
CultureGrams on ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowUp-to-date country reports detailing the history, customs, greetings, societal norms and lifestyle information of over 200 countries.
Advertising Information Links
These links provide current advertising campaigns and individual ads. They are commercial (non-library) websites and may contain inaccessible content.
AdForum- marketing and advertising
Moosend- marketing automation platform
-
Consumer ReportsAccess to Consumer Reports via EBSCO.
-
Advertising AgeFull-text access to Advertising Age through ProQuest.