Journal of the American Dental Association
Dental Medicine Databases
-
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks; connects researchers to more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus, which allows students to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.
-
AccessOne - all Access collections in one search This link opens in a new window
An all-in-one database collection that includes AccessMedicine, AccessMedicine App, AccessPharmacy, and AccessPhysiotherapy.
-
Access Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
Provides access to videos, self-assessment, and over 50 leading medical textbooks; enables faculty to create, track, and report their students' progress through a curriculum tool that eases workflow; and allows practicing pharmacists to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.
-
Access PhysioTherapy This link opens in a new windowVideo instruction on rehabilitation techniques, interactive self-assessment questions to prepare for the NPTE exam, and an ongoing lecture series on key neuroscience and neuroanatomy concepts. Students also have access to leading physical therapy textbooks and quick outlines of common conditions and disorders.
-
Anatomy and Physiology RevealedAn interactive and 3-D resource for learning human anatomy.
-
CINAHL Complete on EBSCO This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is an authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare and contains the full text of nearly 600 journals.
-
Google Scholar (HPU-specific link) This link opens in a new window
Use this link to connect Google Scholar with HPU's collection of full-text journals. You will be asked for your HPU username and password if off-campus.
-
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowWith more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, this collection provides current and scholarly information on the complete range of health care topics.
-
Health & Medical Collection in ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowContains clinical, biomedical, and health journals. Clinical researchers can access high-impact titles including Lancet, New England Journal of Medicine, Nature titles, and more. Also includes curriculum-based health videos, offering highly sought after visual content to complement text information sources.
-
JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association This link opens in a new windowPublished continuously since 1883, JAMA is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal, and currently the most widely circulated general medical journal in the world.
-
MedLine PlusMedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 950 diseases and conditions. There are directories, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
-
MedLine Plus Drugs & SupplementsPrescription and over-the-counter medication information is from AHFS® Consumer Medication Information. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
-
MicroMedex This link opens in a new window
Micromedex maintains 'clinical checklists' for diseases, laying out procedures from diagnosis through treatment. Micromedex also contains a drug database for searching drug information and comparing prescriptions.
-
Nature.com Complete This link opens in a new windowNature.com provides access to Nature Research publications and online databases and services, including news and comment from Nature, NatureJobs, plus access to Nature Education's Scitable.com.
-
PubMed - HPU specific linkPubMed provides access to MEDLINE, NLM's database of citations and abstracts in the health science fields. PubMed also offers up-to-date information on diseases, conditions, drugs, treatment options, and healthy living. The HPU specific link makes document delivery and Interlibrary loan a snap!
-
Sanford Guide Web Edition This link opens in a new windowIntegrates Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy, Sanford Guide to HIV/AIDS Therapy, and Sanford Guide to Hepatitis Therapy into a single searchable collection of point-of-care recommendations for the treatment of infectious diseases. Includes interactive features, such as dosing calculators and algorithms.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to thousands of core titles in the Social and Life Sciences, as well as access to the Elsevier journal collection.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowA citation search tool that indexes over 75 million articles and records. Each citation contains a detailed abstract and links to its references, along with links to resources cited by. Scopus provides links to full-text articles HPU Libraries already subscribes to, as well as links to publisher pages.
-
UpToDate and UpToDate Anywhere This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a continuously updated medical resource for clinicians. UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence on diagnosis, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. For off-campus and mobile use you need to create a login. Users must be on campus to create a login, and will be required to use a '.highpoint.edu' email account to complete the registration.
Saving Links
A note about saving links to articles in our databases: please don’t save the main link you see in your browser bar. The link will expire in 24 hours, and you will not be able to return to the article. Instead, click on the permalink or Document URL (you will see either the word or an icon of a link) and copy and paste from there.
Writing Resources
HPU Librarians are always happy to help you with your citation questions! If you have questions that are related to general writing style or to writing in a particular discipline, we recommend that you utilize the resources below.
-
HPU Writing Center TutorsThe HPU Writing Center is coordinated by the English Department and is available by appointment only. To make an appointment, click on the link above, register as a user, log in, choose a location, and choose an available time slot.
-
Tutoring ServicesTutoring is available at no charge for all HPU students. Many tutors are available for specific disciplines and courses, including Communication. To request a tutor or to view the walk-in tutoring schedule, click on the link above.