Reference Books
Physicians' Desk Reference 2012 by Call Number: R 615.103 P56p 2012ISBN: 9781563638008Publication Date: 2011-12-27
Online Research
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new windowProvides access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks; connects researchers to more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus, which allows students to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.
- CDC - Centers for Disease Control and PreventionAs the nation’s health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health threats. To accomplish our mission, CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise.
- DailyMedProvides information on over 20,278 marketed drugs. Available from National Library of Medicine.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearch individual or multiple online encyclopedias and dictionaries covering a wide range of subjects, from science to education to history.
- NCBI BookshelfAs a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI's mission is to develop new information technologies to aid in the understanding of fundamental molecular and genetic processes that control health and disease.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to thousands of core titles in the Social and Life Sciences, as well as access to the Elsevier journal collection.
- Springer eBook collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of ebooks with a science focus, covering such topics as computer science, engineering, mathematics, physics, and medicine. Springer also includes a number of textbooks.
- Lexicomp in UpToDate and UpToDate Anywhere This link opens in a new windowA drug analysis tool that allows you to review all interactions for a selected medication or enter a patient-specific regimen to analyze for potential interactions. Additionally, you may select a drug interaction result to obtain specific information on Patient Management, Interacting Members, Risk Rating, References and more.
- UpToDate and UpToDate Anywhere This link opens in a new windowUpToDate is a continuously updated medical resource for clinicians. UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence on diagnosis, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. For off-campus and mobile use you need to create a login. Users must be on campus to create a login, and will be required to use a '.highpoint.edu' email account to complete the registration.
Health Data Tools and Statistics
- Cancer Statistics (from the National Cancer Institute)NIH Cancer site dedicated to learning about, finding, and using cancer statistics.
- Complementary and Integrative Medicine UseStatistics from the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health.
- Data, Tools, and Statistics from the National Library of MedicineHSR Information Central is not an index of all health services resources on the Web. Rather, it contains selective links representing a sample of available information. Items are selected for their quality, authority of authorship, uniqueness, and appropriateness.
- Dental HealthNIDCR supports the collection of statistics to document the magnitude of oral, dental, and craniofacial conditions and assess oral health trends in the United States.
- Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney DiseasesStatistics from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disorders.
- Disease Control and PreventionStatistics from the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.
- Drug AbuseTrends and statistics from the National Institute on Drug Abuse.
- Eye Statistics and Data from the National Eye InstituteCurrent estimates for the most common eye diseases.
- Health Data Tools and StatisticsA collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries.Links to health statistics and data sets as well as resources to support data collection.
- Mental HealthStatistics and data from the National Institute of Mental Health.