Accessing Resources from Off Campus
When you attempt to access a library resource, such as a database, from off-campus, you should be prompted to enter your HPU username (without “@highpoint.edu”) and password. Once you enter this information, you should be given access to that resource. Always make sure to use the links located on the library home page, rather than a link from the open web.
If you have forgotten your user name or password, or you need to change your password follow this link.
Research Databases
- CINAHL Complete on EBSCO This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is an authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare and contains the full text of nearly 600 journals.
- ProQuest Central via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
The ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
- PubMed (HPU-specific link) This link opens in a new windowComprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full text articles from PubMed Central or publisher websites. Use the Journal Finder icon next to article entries to check for access in HPU Libraries' collection.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to thousands of core titles in the Social and Life Sciences, as well as access to the Elsevier journal collection.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA citation search tool that indexes over 75 million articles and records. Each citation contains a detailed abstract and links to its references, along with links to resources cited by. Scopus provides links to full-text articles HPU Libraries already subscribes to, as well as links to publisher pages.
Searching for Articles in the Library Catalog
Find full text articles easily through the library catalog search. Watch the video below to learn how!
Finding a specific journal
To find a specific journal, click on Journal Finder on the library homepage. Enter the title of the journal or a term that would appear in the journal title. If the library has online access to that title, the journal will be hyperlinked with the dates of publication we have access to. Once you click the journal link, you can search the title of the article or search keywords in the journal selected.
If we do not have access to the journal you want, you may consider trying Interlibrary Loan.
Search in Journal Finder in the rectangular search box below
Journals
- British Medical Journal (BMJ)
The BMJ is a weekly peer-reviewed medical trade journal, published by the trade union the British Medical Association. It is one of the world's oldest general medical journals. - JAAPA - Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants
JAAPA is the peer-reviewed clinical journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA). Published for more than 25 years, its mission is to support the ongoing education and advancement of physician assistants (PAs) by publishing current information and research on clinical, health policy, and professional issues. - JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association
Published continuously since 1883, JAMA is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal, and currently the most widely circulated general medical journal in the world. - Journal of Physician Assistant Education
JPAE is dedicated to advancing PA education by publishing ethically produced, scholarly manuscripts germane to PA educators and by providing a forum for the sharing of ideas and innovations that will enhance the education of PA students. The journal is peer-reviewed and published on a quarterly basis. - Nature
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public. - New England Journal of Medicine
The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is an influential general medical periodical, dedicated to bringing physicians the best research and information at the intersection of biomedical science and clinical practice, and to presenting the information in an understandable and clinically useful format. - North Carolina Medical Journal
Each issue has a topical focus referred to as the policy forum. The policy forum is introduced by an extended issue brief that provides an overview of key issues related to the focal topic. The issue brief is followed by commentaries and sidebars written by persons with special perspectives on or expertise in various aspects of the topic. - North Carolina Medical Society Bulletin
The latest news from the NC Medical Society. - Physician Assistants' Prescribing Reference
Published quarterly, Physician Assistants' Prescribing Reference is the official drug reference of the AAPA (American Academy of Physician Assistants). It provides product monographs and prescribing information on over 2,300 products and includes AAPA Chapters Listing. - Science
Science is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science since Volume 1 in 1783 and all issues are available for you to search and discover. We have current access via the AAAS website and historical access via JSTOR.
