Core Journals
Review the video tutorial and information on this page, then complete the CHECKPOINT at the bottom. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask a librarian.
Stay Current in Your Field Using HPU Libraries and Journal Finder
HPU Libraries maintains subscriptions to top peer-reviewed medical journals needed to stay current in your field. Access to journals such as Nature.com and JAMA are just a part of our scholarly collection, and we've curated a short list of other core journal titles on the far right of this page.
In your research and professional life you are likely to discover other journals. To see if the library has access to a particular journal publication, use our Journal Finder tool to look up the library's full text coverage and link into the publication
Current News from the Medical Literature
There are a number of tools and strategies for staying current on the latest news in your field. Try taking advantage of the tools through the library to enhance your existing techniques for staying up to date:
Email alerts are a commonly used tool for keeping up with new research and news, and can be set up through a publisher or library database.
RSS feeds* are web-based tools that pull updates from websites and convert them into a readable format. In the context of research they are often used to pull lists of newly published academic articles or news content from a journal publication.
* See sample JAMA RSS Feed below and continue scrolling for instructions on how to set up your own!
How to Generate an RSS Feed Using a Library Database
Core Journals via HPU Libraries
- JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association
Published continuously since 1883, JAMA is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal, and currently the most widely circulated general medical journal in the world.
- New England Journal of Medicine
The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is an influential general medical periodical, dedicated to bringing physicians the best research and information at the intersection of biomedical science and clinical practice, and to presenting the information in an understandable and clinically useful format.
- British Medical Journal (BMJ)
The BMJ is a weekly peer-reviewed medical trade journal, published by the trade union the British Medical Association. It is one of the world's oldest general medical journals.
- Nature
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology. Nature also provides authoritative news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists, and the wider public.
- Science
Science is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science since 1783 and all issues are available for you to search and discover. We have current access via the AAAS website and historical access via JSTOR.
- Journal of Physician Assistant Education
JPAE is dedicated to advancing PA education by publishing scholarly manuscripts germane to PA educators and by providing a forum for the sharing of ideas and innovations that will enhance the education of PA students. The journal is peer-reviewed and published on a quarterly basis.
- North Carolina Medical Journal
North Carolina Medical Journal is published 6 times per year, and each issue has a topical focus. In addition to topic overviews, issues also include a collection of peer-reviewed articles featuring original research on topics relevant to the health of North Carolinians.
CHECKPOINT: Generate an RSS Feed for Medical Journals
Using the ProQuest Health & Medical Collection database, generate an RSS feed for a journal publication other than JAMA (which is used in the example). Enter the link in the Word document you will submit for the CHECKLIST for Part 3!
**You can also save the link for your own use with free RSS reader apps like Feedly or Inoreader.