Databases
Review the video tutorials and information on this page, then complete the CHECKPOINT at the bottom. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask a librarian.
Health Science Databases via HPU Libraries
Below are health science collections to which HPU Libraries maintains subscription access, as wells as those the library has access to as part of our statewide collection consortium, NC LIVE.
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new windowProvides access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks; connects researchers to more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus, which allows students to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.
- Access Pharmacy This link opens in a new windowProvides access to videos, self-assessment, and over 50 leading medical textbooks; enables faculty to create, track, and report their students' progress through a curriculum tool that eases workflow; and allows practicing pharmacists to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.
- Access PhysioTherapy This link opens in a new windowVideo instruction on rehabilitation techniques, interactive self-assessment questions to prepare for the NPTE exam, and an ongoing lecture series on key neuroscience and neuroanatomy concepts. Students also have access to leading physical therapy textbooks and quick outlines of common conditions and disorders.
- Anatomy and Physiology Revealed This link opens in a new windowA multimedia study aid offering an interactive cadaver dissection experience. Includes descriptions, audio pronunciations, and quizzes to reinforce learning.
- CINAHL Complete on EBSCO This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is an authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare and contains the full text of nearly 600 journals.
- Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowWith more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, this collection provides current and scholarly information on the complete range of health care topics.
- Health & Medical Collection in ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowContains clinical, biomedical, and health journals. Clinical researchers can access high-impact titles including Lancet, New England Journal of Medicine, Nature titles, and more. Also includes curriculum-based health videos, offering highly sought after visual content to complement text information sources.
- Healthcare Administration Database in ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowReliable information on a wide range of health administration topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, business and personnel management, ethics, public health administration, and more. Coverage for around 800 key journals with over 4,500 doctoral dissertations and theses.
- JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association This link opens in a new windowPublished continuously since 1883, JAMA is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal, and currently the most widely circulated general medical journal in the world.
- MedlinePlus via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowBrings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other government agencies and health related organizations. This database also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
- MedLinePlus Drugs & Supplements via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowLook up prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines for information on side effects, dosage, and special precautions. MedLine Plus also enables users to browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
- MicroMedex This link opens in a new windowMicromedex maintains 'clinical checklists' for diseases, laying out procedures from diagnosis through treatment. Micromedex also contains a drug database for searching drug information and comparing prescriptions.
- Nature.com Complete This link opens in a new windowNature.com provides access to Nature Research publications and online databases and services, including news and comment from Nature, NatureJobs, plus access to Nature Education's Scitable.com.
- PsycINFO via EBSCO This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. This database from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to thousands of core titles in the Social and Life Sciences, as well as access to the Elsevier journal collection.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA citation search tool that indexes over 75 million articles and records. Each citation contains a detailed abstract and links to its references, along with links to resources cited by. Scopus provides links to full-text articles HPU Libraries already subscribes to, as well as links to publisher pages.
- UpToDate and UpToDate Anywhere This link opens in a new windowUpToDate is a continuously updated medical resource for clinicians. UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence on diagnosis, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. For off-campus and mobile use you need to create a login.
UpToDate and Micromedex: Access information and tutorials for our favorite databases and diagnostic tools
The HPU Libraries offers access to UpToDate via our Databases A-Z List, but you can also access UpToDate via the UpToDate Anywhere! app for your mobile devices.
To create an account simply click on the UptoDate link and register for the mobile app by creating an account with your own personalized username and password.
Once you have created a username and password, you can access UpToDate from any computer with an internet connection by going to www.uptodate.com and clicking the “Log in” button located on the top right of the website.
With your new UpToDate Account, you will be able to use the UpToDate Anywhere Mobile Apps, as well as have CME/CE/CPD credits tracked through your usage of UpToDate. Please go to your respective App store, and download the free UpToDate application, then use the UpToDate username and password you created during the registration process to log in.
For your first time clicking on the CME/CE tab, you may be prompted to reverify your account by logging in. After choosing the type of continuing education from a list, you will no longer need to log in when viewing your CME/CE tab provided you are accessing UpToDate.
Micromedex
Micromedex contains evidence-based resources for AI-powered clinical decision support, drug supply chain management, patient education and more. It maintains 'clinical checklists' for diseases, laying out procedures from diagnosis through treatment. Micromedex also contains a drug database for searching drug information and comparing prescriptions.
CHECKPOINT: Locating Diagnostic Evidence
After reviewing the resource descriptions for databases listed above, determine at least TWO health science collections that contain diagnostic tools. Enter them in a new Word document for Part 3 of this series.
REMINDER ABOUT CHECKPOINTS! For each CHECKPOINT, you are asked to complete various tasks. Start a new Word document for Part 3 (you may use other software and convert the document to a PDF for submission). As you progress through each CHECKPOINT, enter the requested information on your document. You will submit that document at end of the module when completing the CHECKLIST on the final tab. An example of a completed CHECKLIST document is below:
