Literature Review
Review the video tutorial and information on conducting effective literature reviews this page, then complete the CHECKPOINT at the bottom. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask a librarian.
Step-by-Step:
Conducting Health Sciences Literature Reviews 
1. Develop Your Research Question & Determine Keywords
Start with a topic that interests you! Review personal and professional interactions and experiences as well as industry trends to start generating themes and topics. Most importantly, be open to new ideas and problems. THEN, use your question to determine the keywords you will use when conducting your research in health sciences journals. Use this research question and the keywords chosen as an example:
How is research on intermittent fasting diets providing evidence of gut microbiome diversification?
Keywords: intermittent fasting, microbiome, gut, diversification (modification, expansion)
2. Choose a Database using Databases A-Z
We will do a deep dive into the various databases available for your search discipline in Part 3 of this series. Choosing the right database(s) for your searches, and getting comfortable with how they function, will save you time and assist with finding the appropriate sources for your projects.
3. Use Database Filter Tools
Database filter tools will allow you to narrow your search results. Filters vary by database but generally include limiters for article types, publishing dates, study methods, subject demographics, languages, disciplines, and journal sources.
4. Review Article Titles & Abstracts
Scan article titles to quickly identify if the source will support your research question. Titles are often designed with the researcher in mind, outlining what the article is about in just a handful of words. Then, review abstracts to determine further if the article is a keeper or if it should be eliminated from your body of research.
5. Read Full Articles & Determine Relationships / Gaps
Finally, read your article selections. As you're reading, take notes on relationships or gaps between your research question and the data being shared. Those relationships and gaps will justify your research question or prompt you to refine or expand your topic.
Tutorial: Conducting Health Sciences Literature Reviews
Literature reviews will inform your own research and practice by allowing you to review research already performed in your area of study. Both making connections to your topic of interest AND acknowledging gaps between your research goals and those of others will afford you the opportunity to make contributions to the health sciences and your patients.
REMINDER!
This is a cycle. You may find your literature review guiding you to adjust or rethink your original research question.
CHECKPOINT: Literature Reviews
For this CHECKPOINT, you will start the literature review process:
1. Determine a research topic or question of your choice.
2. Decide on at least 5 keywords or phrases you would use to start your search.
3. Include your question and keywords/phrases in your Word document to submit in the CHECKLIST for Part 2.