Skip to Main Content

DMS Module Series -- Navigating HPU Libraries: Saving Library Content

Saving Library Content

Review the information on this page, then complete the CHECKPOINT at the bottom.

If you have any questions, please feel free to ask a librarian.

<< Go BACK                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Go to NEXT Page >>

Saving Links to Library Content

When saving/sharing an article as a link, that link needs to be stable and is often called a permanent link. A permanent link will work when accessed outside of your search session so you could share with a colleague or professor. It will also begin with the library's proxy prefix: https://libproxy.highpoint.edu/login?url=

If you have a link that isn't working, you (or the person sharing it) may have simply copied the URL from the address bar at the top of the browser. These browser links will often result in an error message being they expire after your session ends.

Most databases will put the permanent link for an article in one of their toolbox areas. It might be called:

permalink (EBSCO), stable URL (JSTOR), document URL (ProQuest, under abstract/details page), bookmark URL (Gale), persistent link, or pervasive link, OR it may be located in a "share" or "save" section of the page

For example, in EBSCO collections, the permalink it is located on the right-hand side:

Saving Library eBooks: 3 Strategies

eBooks and eBook chapters from HPU Libraries can also be saved using permalinks! See below to view three popular strategies to do this. The BEST method is the one YOU can use consistently, so choose what is best for you.

A note about printing: eBook databases provide options for converting portions of their eBooks into printable PDFs which may be limited per user and can vary with each eBook. These limits are listed on the eBook description page. 

Strategy 1: Saving Stable Links to eBooks or eBook Chapters

Though eBook databases provide stable links to the item record (as outlined on the left of this page), eBook publishers like ProQuest and EBSCO also have built-in features for saving specific chapters or pages.

Look along the top of the eBook viewer for tools to save the stable link to a specific chapter, send a portion of the eBook to your email, or save eBook content to your Google Drive account.

In ProQuest:

In EBSCO:

Strategy 2: Saving eBook Records from the Library Catalog

The library catalog facilitates saving content in multiple ways. Simply click the Share button at the top of your item's record to either copy the stable link or email the full record to yourself. Saving the full catalog record also preserves helpful content like the linked subject tags in the record's description.

Strategy 3: Saving Lists in Your Library Account

You can also use your HPU library account by signing into the catalog with your HPU credentials. 

FIRST, log into your library account from the catalog portal.

THEN, click the Save button in an eBook record to add it to your account's Saved Items.

NOW  YOU CAN use the Saved Lists feature of your account to create lists and organize your found items. Create as many lists as you need! Make them private OR  public (to share with a colleague). 

CHECKPOINT: Save the Correct Stable Link

For this CHECKPOINT, you will run an article search in the CINAHL Complete database collection:

1. From the Databases A - Z menu, find CINAHL Complete

2. Run a search on a topic of your choosing

3. Select one article from your results

4. Copy the stable link EBSCO provides for the article

5. Past this stable link into the Word document you are using for the Part 1 CHECKLIST.