Historical Collections
Historical Newspaper Access
- African American Newspapers 1827-1998 from Newsbank This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers features high-quality digitzations of news, obituaries, advertisements, and illustrations, offering unique insight into over a century and a half of the African American experience.
- Digital NC This link opens in a new windowAn open access archive, Digital NC is also an easy-to-search repository for digitized historic materials from North Carolina. Their broad collection includes North Carolina maps, local newspapers (including some student newspapers), university yearbooks, a large image and media library, and a diverse collection of memorabilia such as autobiographies and notebooks.
- HeritageQuest Online via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
With more than 4.4 billion records, HeritageQuest delivers a comprehensive collection of genealogical and historical sources that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place’s past. Contains primary sources, local and family histories, convenient research guides, interactive census maps, and more.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, people with print disabilities, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge
- News & Newspapers in ProQuest This link opens in a new window
In addition to prominent and respected titles like The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Guardian, Financial Times, and others, News & Newspapers also offers curated regional, specialty and international news titles and collections for a wide spectrum of viewpoints and counterviewpoints over time.
- Newspaper ArchiveThis is a subscription database, but offers a free trial. NewspaperArchive.com is the first commercial newspaper archive online, starting in 1999. The archives contain more than 15,741+ different titles from every US state and twenty-eight other countries around the world. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword, date, place, and title making it easy for you to quickly see if we have the article you’re seeking.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers: Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
- North Carolina Newspapers via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
North Carolina newspapers spanning 1751-2018.
Campus Publications
- Alumni NewslettersThis collection features the Alumni Newsletters archived at Smith Library. The newsletters date back to 1946 and describe events of High Point College and High Point University. The newsletter was originally called the High Point Bulletin, the name was later changed to High Points and finally to High Point Magazine. This collection allows you to search for terms in the entire collection or in one newsletter at a time.
- The Campus ChronicleIn 1994 the school newspaper underwent a name change to The Campus Chronicle. Digitized versions of the newspaper from 1994 are available at the link above.
- Hi-Po Digital ArchiveThe High Point University campus newspaper was called Hi-Po from 1926-1993. The digitized collection is available at the link above.
- Zenith YearbooksThe Zeniths are the High Point College and University yearbook. They were first published in 1927 and the last Zenith was published in 2016. They are a snapshot of the school, the staff, and the history of the academy during a year.