Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Credo Reference via NCLIVE
Credo is a database of background content, containing full-text entries to help learn the basics of any topic. Start your research here to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles.
ProQuest Central via NCLIVE
The ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
SIRS Issues Researcher via NCLive
Provides background and current analysis of 360+ current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between.
Search individual or multiple online encyclopedias and dictionaries covering a wide range of subjects, from science to education to history.
African American Poetry -- 20th Century via NCLive
A collection of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century.
African American Poetry -- 1750-1900 via NCLive
The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American to the major poets of the nineteenth century.
Biography Reference Center via NCLive
Contains more than 430,000 full-text biographies. In addition to searching the names of individuals, users can also search by occupation, nationality, and publication, to pull larger groups of people.
This database provides access to historical coverage of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage goes back to the first issue (some as far back as the 1800s), but does not include the most recent issues (usually last 3-5 years).
MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO
Produced by the Modern Language Association, this resource provides access to scholarly journal articles, books and dissertations on the subjects of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as rhetoric and the teaching of language and literature.
Use Google Scholar to find information on current and historical issues. If off campus, use the HPU-specific link at right to link to the HPU Journal Finder for full text.