Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Marketing Research MKT 2110-03: Images

Right to copy

Whoever creates content (e.g. poems - stories - articles - photos - artwork) owns the copyright to that content. If others want to use it they will need to cite the content by giving the owner credit.

When a for-profit business wants to use an image or a narrative, they pay the creator or create one in-house. 

There are organization and collectives that supply open access images that you can use in papers, power points and poster presentations.  

You can also see some of these in a Google search. Here is how it works. Search for an image - click on image and then click on tools.  In this example we have selected "labeled for reuse". 

Image Resources

Please check this list of free image resources online:

AmericanImages

American Memory: Library of Congress

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. Many images are copyrighted and can only be used for fair use purposes.

 

artstor

ARTstor

ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes.  ARTstor collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, libraries, photo archives, scholars, artists and artists' estates, and photographers. Our community-built collections are growing rapidly and now exceed 150 superb collections in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Most of these images are copyrighted and can only be used for fair use purposes.

 

biblioboard

BiblioBoard

BiblioBoard is an award winning and web ecosystem that connects library patrons and consumers with digital archives from all over the world - of mostly creative commons and public domain image, audio, and video materials. It is a brand new multimedia experience built around primary source historical content and a growing library of contemporary publisher content focused on historical subjects. HPU Libraries has a subscription to this service. Please push the log in at the top of the screen and use a HPU email address when creating an account. This log in will provide you unlimited access to the database.

 

 

‚Äč

ccsearch

Creative Commons Search

You can use this search tool to find various types of CC licensed items from sources such as Google Images, Jamendo, Flickr, and more. Please note that search.creativecommons.org is not a search engine, but rather offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations. 

 

creativity

Creativity 103

Cr103 is a resource of abstract and unusual stock photography, patterns and textures; all available free-of-charge under a creative commons license.

 

Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. 

 

flickr

Flickr CC Photo Browse

Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license here.

 

flickr

Flickr CC Photo Search

Use this advanced Flickr search to find images by keyword and use the tools at the bottom to filter for only Creative Commons licensed materials that you can modify, adapt and build upon for your own projects.

 

Google Advanced Image Search

Google Advanced Image Search added the option to restrict the results to images that are licensed using Creative Commons. You can use the search box in the link to find images that are licensed using some of the most popular Creative Commons licenses.

 

Geograph

Geograph

This is an attempt by some enterprising souls to photograph the entirety of the British Isles, and they are being kind enough to release all of the photos as Creative Commons.

 

Jstor

JSTOR

JSTOR has the option to search by images.  Previously, JSTOR allowed users to limit results by image.  This feature did not go away, but it has changed in their most recent update.  In order to search images, users will need now to key-word search on the caption field from the Advanced Search page.  The drop-down menus to the right of the search boxes have a "caption" option, which will return content with images. Most of these images are copyrighted and can only be used for fair use purposes.  

 

NASA

NASA Media Archive

Defense Video and Imagery Distruction System (DVIDS) is a state-of-the-art, 24/7 operation that provides a timely, accurate and reliable connection between the media around the world and the military serving in Iraq, Afghanistan, Kuwait, Qatar and Bahrain. Most of these images are not copyrighted.

 

NounProject

The Noun Project

The Noun Project includes thousands of glyph icons from different artists. Some icons are free and some for a fee.  Some images have Creative Commons licenses, while others are in the Public Domain.  

 

Perry Maps

Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection

Map images which can be downloaded, organized by region, type and theme. Most are public domain or licensed for non-commercial use. The PCL Map Collection includes more than 250,000 maps, 20% of which is online.

 

Pixabay

All images and videos on Pixabay are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0. You may download, modify, distribute, and use them royalty free for anything you like, even in commercial applications. Attribution is not required.

 

Free Images

Previously Stock.xchng, Free Images is a stock photography community. You can browse their gallery for high quality stock photos or share yours with others. You have to create an account to view the images, but once you do many of the images are free to download.

 

Stock Xchng

TinEye

TinEye is a reverse image search engine. It finds out where an image came from, how it is being used, if modified versions of the image exist, or if there is a higher resolution version.

 

UNC-Chapel Hill Digital Collections

UNC-Chapel Hill Digital Collections features materials drawn from digital collections made by UNC-CH and collaborations with faculty and partners. The digital collections emphasize North Carolina and the American South. Many digital items include metadata for citing images. Most of these images are copyrighted and can only be used for fair use purposes.

 

Wikipedia

Wikimedia Commons

A database of millions of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute or download.