The databases below specialize in journals, government documents, and other materials useful for research in Criminal Justice. You can also explore all of our databases through Databases A-Z on the library homepage. Still not finding what you need? Ask your librarian for help!
CRJ Related Databases
- Criminal Justice Database in ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowIncludes scholarly journals, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs, and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, and related fields.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA citation search tool that indexes over 75 million articles and records. Each citation contains a detailed abstract and links to its references, along with links to resources cited by. Scopus provides links to full-text articles HPU Libraries already subscribes to, as well as links to publisher pages.
- Case Law via HeinOnline2,800 law-related periodicals, as well as all essential government documents, constitutions, world trials, classic treatises and more.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 220,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.
- North Carolina General AssemblyWebsite of the North Carolina General Assembly.
- North Carolina General StatutesA list of North Carolina's general statutes.
- Criminal Justice & Criminology via HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowCollects current and historical government documents, as well as rare or hard to find pamphlets, memoirs, and books written by ordinary law enforcement officers and not-so-famous criminals.
Saving Links to Articles
When trying to share an article with someone or to access an article from a link, those links need to be of a certain kind, often called a permalink. A permalink will still work when shared outside of your search session and accessed from off-campus. It will begin with the proxy prefix:
https://libproxy.highpoint.edu/login?url=
If you have a link which isn't working, whoever shared the link with you might not have known about this, and may have simply copied the URL from the address bar at the top of the browser. These links will often not work as they expire after your session ends.
Most databases will put the permanent link for an article in one of their toolbox areas. It might be called:
permalink (EBSCO)
stable URL (JSTOR)
document URL (ProQuest, under abstract/details page)
bookmark URL (Gale)
persistent link
pervasive link
...or it may be located in a "share" or "save" section of the page, depending on the database.
For example, in EBSCO collections it is located on the right-hand side:
Newspaper Sources
- New York Times on ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowCurrent, full-text access to the NYT from 1980 to present. Includes the Late Edition Daily plus the Sunday newspaper.
- Wall Street Journal via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowFull text access to the Wall Street Journal, which covers breaking news and current headlines from the U.S. and around the world. Users can also set up alerts for the latest articles on topics of interest. Full text coverage from 1984 - present.
- News & Newspapers in ProQuest This link opens in a new windowIn addition to prominent and respected titles like The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Guardian, Financial Times, and others, News & Newspapers also offers curated regional, specialty and international news titles and collections for a wide spectrum of viewpoints and counterviewpoints over time.
General Article Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to historical coverage of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage goes back to the first issue (some as far back as the 1800s), but does not include the most recent issues (usually last 3-5 years).
- ProQuest Central via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowThe ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowAccess to thousands of magazines, newspapers, and scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of subjects.
- ProQuest History DatabasesAll of ProQuest’s history-related publications in one database.
- Google Scholar (HPU-specific link) This link opens in a new windowUse this link to connect Google Scholar with HPU's collection of full-text journals. You will be asked for your HPU username and password if off-campus.
Finding and Assessing Sources PowerPoint
Skill Module: Database Search Strategies
Skill Module: Database Search Strategies
This module includes a quick overview of boolean search logic, pro tips for database searching, and insight into time-saving database features.
Review the boxes on each tab, then check your understanding by completing the quiz at the end.