Background Information
HPU Libraries provides a number of general reference sources that can be a great place to go for background information, definitions, and overviews of a particular topic. Not finding what you need? Just ask a librarian!
Credo Reference
- Credo Reference via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowCredo is a database of background content, containing full-text entries to help learn the basics of any topic. Start your research here to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles.
Gale
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearch individual or multiple online encyclopedias and dictionaries covering a wide range of subjects, from science to education to history.
JSTOR
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR contains a wide range of historical scholarly journals as well as a huge collection of images. Useful if you're doing biographical research and need images as well.
Biographical Research
Biographical Information
The resources below are useful for finding biographical information and background historical context for many people, including authors, poets, and playwrights.
- Gale Literature via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowArticles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
- Online Catalog (WorldCat Discovery) This link opens in a new windowThe library catalog searches all sources available through HPU Libraries. It's especially great for finding books and ebooks!
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowCollection of women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950, including 1,325 women, 150,000 pages of diaries and letters, and biographical sketches of people represented in the database.
- African American Poetry -- 1750-1900 via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowThe early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American to the major poets of the nineteenth century.
- African American Poetry -- 20th Century via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowA collection of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century.
- American Poetry -- 1600-1900 via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowOver 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the colonial period to the early twentieth century.
- American Poetry -- 20th Century via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowIncludes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets.
Topic Databases
Topic Databases
A topic database is a type of research database that categorizes articles and other sources into "topics" or "issues." Topic databases can help you choose a topic or brainstorm ideas related to your chosen topic.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints covers todays' hottest social issues and includes published opinion essays, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford English Dictionary
If you're going to use a definition, use one from this source. The OED provides you with the history behind the words that have become part of the English language, including first usage and variants. This information can provide you with new insight into the words chosen by the author.
For more about the OED, check out this blog post by Andrew Fair.
- OED - Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary by Call Number: R 423 Ox2ox2 v. 1- 20ISBN: 9780198611868Publication Date: 1989
